Some of the assignments on OneSpace WorkStation use our automated Proficiency Leveling System. This system assigns you one of four levels based on your acceptance rate for specific tasks. Achieving a higher level gives you access to more work and, for certain assignments, higher pay!

How does it work?

Each assignment or group of similar assignments has a defined proficiency. If an assignment has Proficiency Leveling enabled, you will be automatically promoted or demoted to different proficiency levels based on your acceptance rate for qualifying tasks.

What are the levels?

Level I: Beginner
When you first start working on a particular assignment, your proficiency level is Beginner. This is your time to familiarize yourself with the instructions, receive feedback from reviewers, and learn exactly what’s required of you. Freelancers with this proficiency level typically have a limit on the amount of tasks they can submit before their work is reviewed.

Level II: Intermediate
Once you've reached the Intermediate level, you've already demonstrated that you have a firm understanding of the instructions; now you’ll begin to really hone your skills. You’ll have access to more tasks than Beginners, and you’ll be able to complete them more quickly and more accurately.

Level III: Advanced
When you reach the Advanced level, you’ll be completing assignments with the confidence of a pro. You’ll start gaining access to top-tier assignments and earning opportunities, and you’ll be on your way to becoming one of our must trusted freelancers.

Level IV: Expert
At the Expert level, you're the cream of the crop. Other freelancers are likely to look to you as a trusted source of information. As one of our best freelancers in this proficiency, you'll be recruited for exclusive projects for A-list clients and might even be offered higher earnings per task.

Where can I see my level and acceptance rate?

Your level and acceptance rate are displayed within the task toolbar any time you're working on an assignment that has Proficiency Leveling enabled:

To view details about your level, click on the arrow to the right of your acceptance rate:

How is the leveling criteria determined?

OneSpace project managers set the Proficiency Leveling criteria for each assignment based on variables such as difficulty and subjectivity. This leveling criteria is displayed in WorkStation whenever you're working on tasks that have Proficiency Leveling enabled.

Where can I see the leveling criteria for a specific proficiency?

To view the leveling criteria for a specific proficiency, you must first open a qualifying task. Then, click on your level in the task toolbar. From there, select "Learn More":

This takes you to a page with the leveling criteria for that proficiency:

How is my acceptance rate determined?

When you submit a task on WorkStation, we automatically send it to our quality-control team for review. The person who reviews the task must decide whether or not it meets the requirements outlined in the instructions.

Your acceptance rate for a particular proficiency is determined by your number of accepted and rejected tasks for the assignments associated with that proficiency:

  • Accepted tasks are factually correct and fulfill all the requirements outlined in the instructions. These count as 1 full point towards your acceptance rate.
  • Rejected tasks are factually incorrect and/or do not meet the requirements outlined in the instructions. These count as 0 points towards your acceptance rate.
Pending tasks do not affect your acceptance rate until they are either accepted or rejected. If a task is pending, it is not factored into your acceptance rate.

How does rework affect my acceptance rate?

Some of our assignments have rework enabled so that you have a chance to fix errors in a submitted task before we reject your work (and your payment). Items that are accepted after being reworked receive partial credit (half a point) towards your acceptance rate within the leveling system.

For example, if you submitted a total of 15 tasks and all of them were accepted but 3 of them required rework, your score would be 13.5 (12 full points + 3 “half points”) out of 15 possible points--an acceptance rate of 90%.

Click here for more information on the rework process.

Do different levels pay differently?

Some of our assignments have varying pay rates based on your proficiency level. If an assignment pays different rates for different levels, this information will be displayed on the leveling criteria page. (See “Where can I see the leveling criteria for a specific proficiency?” above for details.)

How do promotions and demotions work?

Each level has a promotion window, or a minimum number of tasks you must complete at a certain acceptance rate before you can be promoted to the next level. The exact criteria varies by assignment and can be found on the assignment’s leveling criteria page. (See “Where can I see the leveling criteria for a specific proficiency?” above for details.)

Each time you move to a different level, the task count and acceptance rate for your promotion window resets to 0. The work you completed at a previous level is not factored into the acceptance rate for promotion from your current level.

The acceptance rate for promotion is what displays in WorkStation.

Each level also has a similar demotion window. The demotion window does not reset upon promotion or demotion. Work you complete at previous levels is factored into the acceptance rate for demotion from your current level.

How does leveling tie into task training?

Task training is conducted before a writer enters into a proficiency leveling system. Think of task training as Level 0: Trainee. Once a Trainee “graduates,” they will be granted Level 1: Beginner status and enter into the proficiency leveling system.

If task training is enabled on an assignment and a freelancer is promoted to Beginner, their demotion window will take into account all or a portion of their tasks completed as a trainee.

Click here
for more information on task training.